I’m better

I finally went to the GP. He freaked out a little bit because I was too pale, and I got sent to the ER.  Navigating the health services, even for urgent stuff…  is it anything less than a nightmare ANYWHERE in the world?

I wrote a longer rant but I am over it and I just want to say that the pain got better after I got IV medication, and I was finally able to eat something  and keep it down.  The surgeon believes I had post-operative bleeding pressing against my liver.  It’s not serious enough to require a special procedure, the blood will be reabsorbed by my body and I should be okay.  I have an ultrasound on Monday to confirm this and make sure everything is fine.

I’m just very tired, and sad because I had some progress with my depression in terms of a regular sleep schedule and daily activities.  All that went to hell in the past two weeks and I have to start over.  I also lost about 5 pounds in 1 week.  That is not necessarily bad.

Unluckily, while my body was down, a virus took advantage of it and I now have a cold.  It’s annoying, but I can take annoying over horrible torture any day.

A lot of familiar symptoms are back, anxiety, low energy, bad dreams, no motivation, no hope, despair.  I didn’t want them back but I feel too tired to fight them at the moment.  I’m trying to ignore them, wait, and hope they leave.

  1. #1 by hystericalconfession on March 6, 2011 - 8:41 pm

    I’m glad to hear that you are able to keep things down now. I hope your ultrasound goes well.

    I can relate to the “ignore it until it goes away” tactic and I can definitely relate to the sketchy sleep schedule. That is something that I have been slipping back into recently myself. I hope you feel better soon.

    This is going to sound a little weird, but I was looking at some of your older blogs and I think your written English has improved a lot. If you didn’t say that you were a native Spanish speaker, I would think that English was your native language. It’s really impressive how far you’ve come in such a short time.

    I hope that didn’t sound patronizing or strange. I really am impressed. I have a hard time learning languages, so I think it’s really great when people are multi-lingual.

  2. #2 by purplesapho on March 7, 2011 - 2:42 pm

    I am ignoring my depression in a way, but keep in mind that I’m still getting help for it, my appointment with my psychiatrist is soon, and I’m taking my meds as I should. I already tried ignoring it completely before and it just got worse. Today things have been better, I managed to sleep throughout the night and wake up early. I deal much better with things if I’m sleeping well. 🙂

    I’m very touched that you took the time to read through my older blog posts. ^ ^ And thank you for your input about my English!

  3. #3 by Tony White on March 14, 2011 - 8:03 am

    I know what you mean about navigating health services. It is just the same here in this country. Anywhere!

Leave a Reply

