Depression severity evaluation

Inspired by (snatched from) Pandora (thank you!)

1. Goldberg Depression Scale

Result: 66 (severe = 54+)

I try to answer these questionnaries as honestly as possible. Trying to tell myself not do be dramatic, to realize how my life is actually okay and there’s nothing wrong objectively speaking.  I’m calm at the moment.  It can’t be that bad. But then they ask me something like  “It takes great effort for me to do simple things.” and it is an absolute yes.  “I feel lifeless — more dead than alive.” Yes again.  And so I kept on getting 4s and 5s until I realized the result wasn’t going to be good.

And I think kind of stupidly… do you mean normal people would only get 0 – 9 in this? Do you mean they don’t live with these thoughts and mind glitches all the time? Is this the people I’m trying to compete with out there in the world?

2. Beck Depression Inventory Short Form

Result: 20 (very depressed, take action=20+)

I consider this a moderate result and looking at the possible answers, I know I’ve been way worse before.

3. Hamilton Depression Scale (adapted for self administration, it seems)

Result: 18 (moderate)

4. Modified Scale for Suicidal Ideation (MSSI)

Result: 2 (it made me stop after question 4). Not Suicidal.

5. Burns Depression Checklist

Result: 56 (Severe depression)

I know these questionnaries are not supposed to be self diagnostic tools but I found them extremely useful to give me a better idea of where I stand, knowing for sure that I’ve been worse.  I’m on meds right now, but still sleeping too much and as useless as ever, but most of my answers to the test used to be worse.

Does this mean improvement? How much more can I expect? Ambitious much? Well, yes I am. I want this shit out of my brain.

  1. #1 by albinorealm on February 11, 2011 - 8:54 pm

    We are definitely under the ‘severe’ category. I had the same reaction. I found it hard to believe that anyone could be between 0-9. I cannot even imagine what it would feel like to take the test and see my honest answers result in such a low score. This burden that weighs heavily on us is so ridiculously monstrous that it makes what the average person faces on a daily basis seem like the size of a pebble in their pocket–something so small and light it can easily be forgotten as you carry on with the rest of your day. If only our boulder–so large that it gives one back pain just thinking about it–were so easy to forget.

    But I believe in you and I believe in us. We will work together to decrease our scores. I know just the right colour to paint that pebble for when we chip and blast this boulder to almost nothing.

    I am proud of you for writing.

  1. Lies, Damn Lies and Statistics » Confessions of a Serial Insomniac

Leave a Reply

