email

My psychiatrist and I communicate through email sometimes. I think it’s great. I rarely bother him, only writing when I have a specific question or I have news about the way I’m doing depression-wise.

How did I get his email address? Well, I’m not sure how often he does this because giving your email to a patient can be a double edged sword.  I think I’ll ask him about it.  It started when we had our last appointment on Sep 03, and he asked me if I was a writer because of the way I expressed myself.  I sheepishly told him that all I did was to write a blog sometimes, but that I’ve been doing it for a few years now.  Now, I was getting ready to  be acussed of giving too much importance to my symptoms, rumiating, thinking about it too much, you know the criticism we mental bloggers tend to get.

No. Instead he thought it was a great idea.

He thought all of this was a great idea.

Then he told me he had a blog too, but about something weird and specific like old radios or something.  He’s I assume in his sixties, and I thought I’d even have to explain to him what a blog was.  My jaw was on the floor.

Then I got nervous because I thought he was going to ask for my blog address. But he never did that.  We talked about some writers that he liked and I didn’t know for a while, and then he gave me his email address and told me to use it.  He even has a gmail address.

This is extremely useful. In so many ways.

1. The psychiatrist is in Bogota, and I live in Neiva, 6 hours away.  Appointments are a pain in the ass.

2. Also, these are private appointments and each one of them costs a lot.  Seeing him every month even was too much for my parents so my grandma is paying for them.  More people that I’m draining.

3. I have social anxiety.

So instead of more appointments, I get to email him.

He even complimented my writing on the first email I sent him, and said it was a pleasure to read me (I do this in Spanish, my main language).   He’s been answering my questions, even the same day I write them.

I’ve been having restlessness and thought I had akathisia. So I emailed him with my concerns.  He said it wasn’t akathisia.  That I’m getting restlessness simply because the antidepressants are activating my mind before the mood truly picks up, and decided it was safer to go a bit slower so reduced the dose of the aripiprazole to 1/8th of a pill instead of 1/4th.   Indeed, it’s been better since.  But I’ve been sleeping more.

We’ll see, but I feel much more supported.  I wish everyone had a psychiatrist like this one.

  1. #1 by sulz on October 29, 2010 - 11:03 am

    happy for you that you found a good psychiatrist. 🙂 it’s always good to have someone an email away, whether the person is your psych or just a friend. i have a friend i text to almost every day. love her and wish i have more friends like that.

Leave a Reply

