I’m a hungover morning bird

I was lying down on bed, trying to sleep, because when you fail at modifying the speed of rotation of the earth, the position of the sun, or your own location by means of teleporting, the only thing left to do to fight the jet lag in your own home town is to keep trying.

It’s just better for my head when I’m awake during the day and asleep during the night.  I’m actually a morning person.  I just haven’t been acting like one lately.  I’m not insomniac, it’s just that my brain thinks I live in the pacific islands.  It happened because I was insomniac for a while though.  But thankfully that’s not the case, no, I actually sleep over 10 hours a day.  Day being the keyword.

As I looked at the ceiling cat and the fluorescent lightbulb in my bedroom, and the ideas kept buzzing like annoying mosquitos when I’m supposed to be sleeping, my brain kept going from flatline to finding the question to the answer to life the universe and everything.   I had such an epiphany, that it justified me getting out of bed and turning on the computer to type it out in my word processor, only I had forgotten it by then.  Oops.

It was something about empathy, the universe, the NPCization of people, you know, along those lines.

But I think I should work on a brain printer first.

And, oh yeah, getting my sleep back on track.

  1. #1 by Kate on March 6, 2010 - 10:40 am

    I wonder what would happen if you did switch hemespheres? I’ve always imagined I’d be sorted if I lived nearer the equator (constancy of daylight hours).
    I’m still puzzled as to what a ‘ceiling cat’ is. Do you have an actual cat that can walk upsidedown?
    I wish they’d hurry up and launch that brain printer. There’s so much clever but pointless technology around these days, you’d have thought they’d have made it by now – although perhaps they’re keeping it to themselves. As with all of these things, it would be open to abuse!
    K.x

    • #2 by purplesapho on March 7, 2010 - 1:37 am

      Hey Kate, wow, I had not thought about it. Living in a place where days have different durations depending on the time of the year would seem to make it more complicated. But I wonder if it actually has an proven effect, like people near the equator achieving better sleep habits because of it.

      This is Ceiling Cat –> http://mobclub.com/resources/productmaster/Ceiling%20cat%20900.jpg

      It’s a joke. It was an internet meme that came from the lolcats site I think. It’s basically that picture of a kitty looking down a hole in the ceiling, which originally had a caption like “Ceiling Cat is watching you Masturbate” and then replaced with any verb people could think of. It was all over the internet at some point as some sort of deity that can see everything you do because it’s in the ceiling! but I’m guessing it’s not as widely known as I thought it was.

      I thought it was hilarious and I even own a papercraft model of a ceiling cat. So, when I wrote about how I looked at the ceiling cat while lying on my bed, it’s because I did.

  2. #3 by Tanya on March 20, 2010 - 3:09 pm

    I would love to have a brain printer. I’d also like a brain notepad cause I run out of hand to write reminders on.

Leave a Reply

